About Us

Manitoba Building Trades (MBT) represents the common goals of over 10,000 construction and trades professionals across our 13 member unions. We promote the interests of our member unions and engage in project partnerships to deliver safe, skilled and highly productive labour.

We believe that unionized construction labour is the most competitive alternative for public and private project proponents in the industrial, commercial and institutional sectors. We deliver cost competitive skilled labour while maintaining the highest standards of training, wages and benefits and workplace safety.

Our commitment to excellence is evident at construction sites and completed projects across Manitoba each and every day. Our members – hardworking, middle class Canadians – and project partners take pride in building the essential infrastructure which supports the economy and future of Manitoba and Canada.

In partnership with other provincial councils we are part of a network of 500,000+ Canadian construction professionals.



MBT has a long, active history which began as the Winnipeg Building Trades Council on March 9, 1909. In 1943, the council began province-wide representation and it was renamed the Winnipeg and Vicinity Building Trades Council. In 1995, the Manitoba Building and Construction Trades Council was adopted. Today, we’re simply known as MBT.



Our operations are overseen and led by a Board of Directors and Executive team.

Board of Directors:

Mike Feiffer • Boilermakers

Russ Shewchuk • Electricians

Karl Hollinshead • Insulators

Robert Duarte • Iron Workers

Victor Dasilva • Labourers

James Szmerski • Millwrights

Mark Lafond • Operating Engineers

John Sedor • Painters – DC 17

George Emery • Plasterers

Kyle Kalcsics • Plumbers & Pipefitters

Doug Munro • Sheet Metal & Roofers

Rob Mryglod • Teamsters


Marc Lafond • President

Victor Dasilva • Vice President

Russ Shewchuk • Secretary Treasurer

Evan Collingridge • Trustee

Kyle Kalcsics • Trustee

Robert Duarte • Sergeant at Arms

Sudhir Sandhu • Chief Executive Officer