Allied Hydro Council

The Allied Hydro Council of Manitoba (AHC) is a Council of 17 construction and trades unions that build hydro projects across Manitoba under the guidelines and standards set out in the Burntwood Nelson Agreement (BNA). The AHC and Manitoba Building Trades share 12 member unions that are founding partners of both Councils.

Since the late 1960s, the BNA has been the governing collective agreement for the AHC and the Hydro Projects Management Association and is the longest continuous agreement of its kind in Canada.


Under the BNA, tens of thousands of union members in Manitoba have partnered to construct major Hydro installations, mostly in remote northern regions. These projects have placed Manitoba as the leading producer of clean, renewable energy and include:

  •  Kettle Rapids Generating Station
  •  Jenpeg Generating Station
  •  Long Spruce Generating Station
  •  Limestone Generating Station
  •  Henday Convertor Station
  •  Wusqwatim Generating Station
  • Keeyask Generating Station
  • Keewatinohk Convertor Station


AHC and its member unions are proud of their track record of excellence. Working in remote northern locations on a year-round basis is never easy, but it is rewarding – the legacy of these projects will benefit Manitoba for generations to come.


Presently, the AHC is actively engaged in the latest iconic and historic Manitoba Hydro projects at Keeyask and Keewatinohk, both on First Nations lands. The AHC believes that a skilled northern Aboriginal workforce must be an enduring legacy of these projects. To that end, they are an active partner in training residents of First Nations communities and generating sustained employment for Aboriginal workers in the north.


For more information about ongoing Keeyask and Keewatinohk projects, please contact the AHC at or call 204.956.7425.


To view the Burntwood Nelson Agreement, Click here.